LifeStory · StoriesfromVi

Running Towards Life

“People haven’t found meaning in their lives, so they’re running all the time looking for it. They think the next car, the next house, the next job. Then they find those things are empty, too, and they keep running.” Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Frankly speaking, those lines by Prof Morrie describe my current situation best.

After graduating from uni, I got a job at Indonesia’s news channel, METRO TV. I was really happy because the job has something to do with my hobby, which is writing. Moreover, I got the chance to meet and know many great personalities, and of course those popular news anchors.

270401
The International Desk Team of METRO TV with the late News Consultant, Bang Rullah

But then, after working for just one year, all of the excitement I had was gone. Although I found myself fill with many knowledge and skills,  I found my job not challenging at all. Bored might be the right word to describe what I felt back then.

So, I tried hard to find another job or another opportunity. While searching for another job, I didn’t have any idea what kind of job that I want. I love being in media, but the cost of living in the capital city and the salary of a newbie reporter just doesn’t make my life easier.

When I heard my friends talking about what a scholarship could offer you, and all those exciting stuffs you can taste studying abroad, the idea of going to China to improve my language skills came up. Applied for three different scholarships, I achieved the last one.

I actually came to China with scattered minds. I knew that I will cherish the time I have here, but I didn’t know what will I do next after China? Anyhow, I just left behind all the worries.

Coming to China may be just my escape from the boredom of working at the TV station and the uncertainty of getting new job.

Now that I am finishing my study soon, I come back to that question, what’s next?

I think I will just keep running.

One thing that I know for sure, wherever I run, although I have not found the real meaning of life, I will do my best to add value to my life. Or maybe I don’t need to find meaning to my life? Maybe I just need to appreciate the present?

Who knows…

 

Leave a comment